Tailings

尾矿管理:布鲁马迪尼奥事故后发生了哪些变化?

随着全球各地矿场中贵重矿石品位的持续下降,采矿业不得不应对复杂的化学加工过程中产生的大量残余废弃物——尾矿。通常,尾矿会通过管道排入大型的地表尾矿库中,四周用土坝圈围。尾矿储存是目前采矿业风险最大、影响最严重的一个环节。

尽管从规模和后果来看,去年巴西的布鲁马迪尼奥尾矿坝( Brumadinho dam)溃坝事故属于极端案例,但过去两年间溃坝事故在巴西、秘鲁、俄罗斯、澳大利亚和中国等地时有发生,且此类事故发生概率一直在上升。《负责任采矿指数2018》(以下简称RMI2018)对尾矿的研究结果显示,布鲁马迪尼奥尾矿坝所属的淡水河谷公司(Vale)在跟踪、审查和采取行动改善尾矿风险管理方面的表现并不逊色于其他绝大多数公司。

布鲁马迪尼奥事故之后,业内发布了一系列关于尾矿安全的行业声明,这个问题也引发了媒体的关注。但2018年以来,情况是否真的有所改观?未来发生此类灾难性溃坝的可能性会降低吗?

负责任采矿基金会(RMF)在《负责任采矿指数2020》(以下简称 RMI2020)中发布的最新研究表明,由投资者发起的倡议促使各个公司的尾矿储存设施(TSF)透明度有所提高,但大多数公司仍无法证明他们审查了如何有效管理TSF相关风险,以及在必要时候采取了相应行动。更为关键的是,能证明已告知当地社区发生尾矿相关事故时应采取何种措施的矿区少之又少。

RMI2020报告发布时,全球尾矿评估(Global Tailings Review)主席布鲁诺·奥伯勒博士( Dr Bruno Oberle)评论:

虽然现在有越来越多公司公开了尾矿储存设施位置和特点的相关数据,但从RMI2020报告来看,采矿公司对这些设施是否进行了有效管理还缺少相关的公开信息。随着全球尾矿评估的继续,报告结果进一步突显了建立全球标准的紧迫性。有了全球标准,整个行业的尾矿设施安全管理将取得显著的进步。

布鲁诺·奥伯勒博士,全球尾矿评估主席

尾矿储存设施相关信息更加公开化

布鲁马迪尼奥事故之前,全球没有一家尾矿储存设施进行过公开登记。通常,矿业公司不仅不会公开尾矿储存设施的位置,更不用说此类设施的相关安全信息。然而,这些都是关系到股东、投资者、保险公司、政府、以及社区和工人切身利益的信息。

为此,由英国教会养老金委员会(Church of England Pension Board)与AP基金会瑞典道德理事会(the Swedish Council of Ethics of the AP Fund)发起,一批投资者成立了“投资者采矿与尾矿安全倡议”(Investor Mining & Tailings Safety),并要求700多家采掘公司公开分享此类信息。约50%的公司做出了回应,包括全球50家最大的矿业公司中的45家。

由此,大大提高了尾矿储存设施基础数据的可用性,RMI2020报告发现,参与评估的38家公司中近一半披露了尾矿储存设施的数量和确切位置(见图1),主要是为了应对投资者的要求。

对具有风险的结构依赖性越来越高

近期披露的尾矿储存设施信息揭示了一个令人担忧的趋势:根据现有信息,各公司正计划扩大上游式尾矿储存设施的存储量(布鲁马迪尼奥事故中溃决的正是这类尾矿坝),这意味着这种结构的尾矿库存储量占比将从24%增至30%。目前,上游式尾矿存储设施中被认为存在高潜在风险的占92%。

公司在跟踪尾矿风险管理有效性方面的表现未改善

与RMI2018报告中的情形一样, RMI2020报告中评估的38家公司中仅少数几家有证据表明其对尾矿储存设施管理的有效性进行了第三方审计或审查,且范围通常相当有限。有证据显示,根据审查结果采取相应行动,从而改善自身尾矿储存设施相关风险管理绩效的公司则更少。事实上正如图2所示,所有公司在这项指标上的得分均未超过50%。

公司如果不能“了解并展示”其在防止尾矿坝溃坝以及渗漏等问题方面的表现,就很难解决矿区常见的信任缺失问题,以及投资方、融资方、政府和其他利益相关方对尾矿存储设施风险的担忧。

缺乏有关尾矿事故风险和应急响应程序的当地信息

RMI2020报告发现,参与评估的180个矿区中仅不到10%披露了尾矿设施溃坝可能影响的地区。

此外,只有极少数矿区能证明已告知当地社区发生尾矿相关事故时应采取何种措施,详细信息见图3。

大力公开那些事关当地利益相关方生死的重要信息理应成为常态。

关于加强即将出台的“全球尾矿标准”(Global Tailings Standard)的建议

在联合国环境规划署(UNEP)、负责任投资原则(PRI)以及国际采矿和金属理事会(ICMM)的联合召集下,由一个多利益相关方组成的小组和全球尾矿评估联合起草的全球尾矿管理标准目前正在定稿之中。

全球尾矿标准无疑是值得鼓舞的第一步,但关键是要抓住此次机会大幅提高尾矿管理标准,确保该标准充分解决透明度、受溃坝风险影响的当地利益相关者的参与、以及尊重他们的生活和工作等关键问题。

由于新的规范目前正处于定稿阶段,负责任采矿基金会强烈建议其就以下几点提出明确要求:

-公开数据格式以管理风险:公司应公开披露各个矿区所有事关公共利益的数据,包括尾矿存储设施的管理及其安全性、以及溃坝发生时的应急准备程序等。此类数据对投资方、融资方、政府和当地利益相关方至关重要。-确保当地利益相关方的实质性参与:公司应提前并持续采取措施,确保当地利益相关方(社区、工人)的参与,使其明白溃坝的风险和潜在影响,并让当地利益相关方参与应急准备计划的设计和测试工作。

-采取有力措施解决现有的高风险尾矿存储设施:公司应确保现有尾矿存储设施的安全,必要时应关闭和拆除存在安全隐患的尾矿存储设施。这些规定应适用于发生溃坝时可能造成生命损失的所有尾矿存储设施。

-扩大尾矿存储设施风险管理的问责范围:应有更多的公司高层管理人员对尾矿设施的安全负责,不仅要包括一名高层管理人员,还要包括一名董事会成员。

-自由、事先和知情同意:根据《联合国原住民权利宣言》( UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples),规划、设计和实施的各个阶段均需尊重原住民享有的自由、事先和知情同意权。除了这项国际公认的权利,全球尾矿标准还应要求公司获得可能受其影响的所有社区的自由、事先和知情同意,从而更好地顺应扩大自由、事先和知情同意权适用范围这一得到广泛认可的原则。

-利用湖泊、河流和海洋处置尾矿:为了与国际银行和多边借贷机构之间日益流行的做法保持一致,标准应禁止使用此类方式处置尾矿,并要求公司正式承诺不使用这些方法。RMI2020报告发现,接受评估的公司中至少有八家正在积极地向河流或海洋环境排放尾矿,或者将其储存在海底。仅一家公司正式表态不采用此类处置方法。


脚注

  1. 详见www.worldminetailingsfailures.org。
  2. WMTF,2020年即将发布。《2020年全球尾矿状况报告》。全球尾矿溃坝事故 www.worldminetailingsfailures.org

分享

Tailings

Tailings management: What has changed since Brumadinho?

As concentrations of valuable ore continue to decrease in mines around the world, the mining industry has to cope with the enormous volumes of residual waste – known as tailings – it generates as outputs of its complex chemical processes. Typically piped into large surface impoundments and held in place by earthen dams, stored tailings pose by far mining’s greatest risk of severe impacts.

While the scale and consequences of the Brumadinho dam failure last year were extreme, other tailings dam failures have occurred on a regular basis over the past two years in countries such as Brazil, Peru, Russia, Australia and China, and the incidence rate of such failures has been increasing for some time. And the RMI Report 2018 results on tailings showed that the operating company Vale was performing no worse than the vast majority of other large companies in tracking, reviewing and acting to improve its tailings risk management.

The Brumadinho disaster generated a flurry of industry statements and media interest on tailings safety, but has anything really changed since 2018 and are such catastrophic failures any less likely to happen in the future?

The latest research by the Responsible Mining Foundation (RMF), published in the RMI Report 2020, reveals that while an investor-led initiative has resulted in improved transparency about companies’ tailings storage facilities (TSF), the vast majority of companies are still unable to demonstrate that they are reviewing how effectively they are managing TSF-related risks and taking responsive actions where necessary. And critically, very few mine sites show evidence of having informed local communities about what to do in the case of a tailings-related incident.

Commenting on the release of the RMI Report 2020, Dr Bruno Oberle, Chair of the Global Tailings Review, said:

As more companies now disclose data on the locations and characteristics of their mine tailings storage facilities, the RMI Report 2020 shines a light on the lack of public information with regards to how effectively these facilities are managed by mining companies. As the Global Tailings Review continues, the results of the RMI Report 2020 further reinforce the urgent need to create a global standard that will deliver a step change in the safe management of tailings facilities across the industry.

Dr Bruno Oberle, Chair of the Global Tailings Review

More publicly-available information on tailings storage facilities

Prior to the Brumadinho disaster there was no global public register of TSF, and mining companies were generally not publicly disclosing even the location of their TSF let alone information on the safety of these facilities – information of critical interest to shareholders, investors, insurers and governments as well as communities and workers.

In response, a group of investors, led by the Church of England Pensions Board and Swedish Council of Ethics of the AP Funds, established the Investor Mining & Tailings Safety and requested over 700 extractive companies to publicly share such information. Approximately 50% of the companies responded, including 45 of the 50 biggest mining companies.

This has significantly improved the availability of basic data on TSF – the RMI Report 2020 found that nearly half of the 38 companies assessed had publicly disclosed the number and exact location of their TSF (see Figure 1), mostly through their response to the investor request.

Increasingly heavy reliance on risky structures

These recent TSF disclosures have revealed a worrying trend: according to the information available, companies are planning to increase the volume of tailings stored in upstream-constructed TSF (the type of dam that failed in Brumadinho), meaning an increase from 24% to 30% of all tailings will be stored in these structures – 92% of which are currently classified as having a High hazard potential.

No improvement in companies tracking the effectiveness of their tailings risk management

As was the case in the RMI Report 2018, only a handful of the 38 companies assessed in the RMI Report 2020 show evidence of having conducted third-party audits or reviews of the effectiveness of their TSF management, and these reviews are often quite limited in scope. Even fewer companies show evidence of having taken responsive actions on the basis of these reviews in order to improve their performance on managing TSF-related risks. In fact, as Figure 2 shows, no company scored more than 50% on this indicator.

If companies cannot ‘know and show’ how they are doing on preventing tailings dam failures and other TSF problems such as seepage, they will find it difficult to address the trust deficit commonly found in mining areas and the concerns about TSF risks among investors and financiers, governments and other stakeholders.

Lack of local information on risks and emergency procedures in the case of tailings incidents

The RMI Report 2020 found that less than 10% of the 180 mine sites assessed publicly disclose the area potentially affected by a failure of its tailings facilities.

Furthermore, very few mine sites demonstrate that they have informed local communities of what to do in the case of a tailings-related incident. See Figure 3 for details.

Strong disclosure of such information, of potential life-or-death importance to local stakeholders, should of course be the norm.

Recommendations for strengthening the forthcoming Global Tailings Standard

A new global standard on tailings management is currently being finalised by a multi-stakeholder group, the Global Tailings Review, co-convened by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), the Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI) and the International Council on Mining and Metals (ICMM).

The Global Tailings Standard is certainly a welcome first step, but it is of critical importance not to miss this opportunity to significantly raise the bar on tailings management by ensuring the standard adequately addresses key issues of transparency, engagement and respect for local stakeholders living and working with the risks of TSF failure.

As the process is currently underway to finalise this new norm, RMF strongly recommends that the standard sets out clear requirements on the following points:

– Open data formats to manage risk: Companies should disclose publicly and at the level of individual mine sites all public-interest data on their management of TSF, the safety of these structures, and the emergency preparedness procedures to follow in case of TSF failure. This data is crucial for investors and financiers, governments and local stakeholders.

– Meaningful engagement with local stakeholders: Companies should undertake upfront and ongoing engagement measures to be clear with local stakeholders (communities, workers) about the risks and potential impacts in the event of failure and to involve local stakeholders in designing and testing emergency preparedness plans.

– Strong measures to address existing high-risk TSF: Companies should ensure the safety of their existing TSF, and where necessary to decommission and remove TSF that cannot be made safe. These provisions should apply to any TSF the failure of which is expected to lead to any loss of life.

– Broader accountability for TSF risk management: Companies should assign broader senior-level responsibility for the safety of tailings facilities, to include not only a member of senior management but also the Board of Directors.

– Free, Prior and Informed Consent (FPIC): In line with the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, respecting the right to FPIC of Indigenous Peoples should be mandatory during all stages of planning, design and implementation. Beyond this internationally-recognised right to give consent or not, the standard could better align with the widespread recognition that the principle of FPIC be applied more broadly, by requiring companies to ask for FPIC from all potentially-impacted communities.

– Lake, riverine and marine disposal of tailings: In line with the growing momentum among international banks and multi-lateral lenders, the standard should ban the use of these disposal methods and require formal company-wide commitments to not use these methods. The RMI Report 2020 found that at least eight of the assessed companies are actively discharging tailings into rivers or marine environments or storing them on the seabed. And only one company has formally committed to not use such disposal methods.


Footnotes

  1. See www.worldminetailingsfailures.org.
  2. WMTF, forthcoming 2020. State of World Mine Tailings 2020. World Mine Tailings Failures www.worldminetailingsfailures.org.

Share