采矿与水资源: 采矿作业凌驾于公共利益之上?

相比于水量管理,矿业公司对水质管理进行跟踪和报告的可能性要小得多。对于与矿业公司共享相同水资源的利益相关方来说,水质和水量一样,都与他们息息相关,他们需要知道水资源污染水平的相关信息。矿业投资方、融资方和客户也想知道公司与水污染防治以及水质管理相关的资产风险表现。尽管对采矿作业用水供给的关注促使各公司定期对用水量进行报告,但却在很大程度上忽略了公开披露当地的水质相关数据。研究表明,矿业公司通常只在生产国法规要求其披露的情况下,才会公开披露水质监测数据。

事关公共利益的关键问题

采矿作业可能对水质产生长期严重的影响,当地的水质决定着农业、其他行业、当地社区和矿区排放点下游环境的水资源可用性和安全性。 因此,水质是一个与矿区社会经济和环境健康直接相关的代际问题。显然,用水户需要及时获知与当地采矿作业下游水质相关的数据。

对水资源质量缺乏重视3《负责任采矿指数2020》 明确显示了在水质和水量相关数据披露方面的巨大差异。报告评估了38家大型矿业公司在经济、环境、社会和治理等方面一系列问题上的政策和做法。这些公司在下游水质跟踪和披露方面的平均得分仅为13%,而在跟踪和披露用水量信息上的平均得分则为60%(见图1和图2)

矿区的情况亦是如此。《负责任采矿指数2020》矿区评估结果显示,矿区在水质、水量的监测和相关信息的披露表现得非常薄弱,公司对矿区水质进行跟踪和披露的可能性也很小(见图3和图4)。

值得注意的是,《负责任采矿指数2020》评估的公司中,只有少数几家在可持续发展报告中提到了水质受到的影响(且仅限于对重大水污染事件的简要提及),但用水量的统计数据各公司通常会定期报告。《负责任采矿指数2020》的结果表明,监管框架能够对公司跟踪并披露水质数据的意向产生较大影响。总体而言,印度和澳大利亚等国的矿区在这一问题上的表现优于其他国家,原因在于这些国家的政府主管部门要求矿区公开报告水质监测结果。必须指出的是,此类规定往往要求公司报告排放点下游特定地点的水质,而不仅是笼统的排放的水质。

业界对水质报告的预期不高

某种程度上,披露水质数据缺乏“内部需求”,原因在于水资源相关的主要报告规范和准则基本上都忽视了水质问题。例如,全球报告倡议组织(GRI)涵盖了用水量的各种详细问题,但除了要求对排放水的水质进行基本的两级分类外,并未涉及水质方面的内容。 使用该框架的矿业公司几乎没有提及质量指标,仅是报告排放量。 虽然国际矿业与金属理事会(ICMM)这类水资源管理行业准则强调需要定期披露水质、水量的相关数据,但水报告相关行业准则几乎将关注点全部放在了水量上,而关于水质则只是对排入环境的废水按照质量(高或低)进行两级分类。这种浮于表面的报告没有对采矿作业下游利益相关方实际使用的水质进行详细说明,例如河流与湖泊的水质,这类水资源常用于其他行业、畜牧生产、作物灌溉或家庭用水。

与重要性分析不匹配

一方面矿业公司鲜少对水质进行跟踪和报告,另一方面他们所作的大部分重要性分析(materiality analyses)都把水质和水量列为应优先予以关注的问题。如此鲜明的反差不禁令人怀疑此类重要性分析究竟有多大价值。可以说,公司有时是从狭义的角度去理解“重要性”,只是从这个概念的起源,也就是财务重要性来加以理解——即某一问题对公司自身的重要性,而非对其他利益相关方更加广泛的重要性。例如GRI也认识到了这个问题,并认为有必要在其最新的报告框架中明确“重要性”所包含的实质含义。分析人士指出,公司对于重要性分析可能只是敷衍了事,并未与公司的环境、社会和治理(ESG)管理和报告活动挂钩。重要性分析和公司报告 。 中对待水质问题的不匹配可能正是这种“脱钩”的一个例子。

水质:全局视角

利用目前的净水技术,矿业公司对排入水中的排放物质量进行控制并非难事。大多数情况下,公司已经收集了环境以及排放水质量的监测数据。现在的问题只是公开信息,以供其他利益相关方及时有效地获取。

显然,矿区对水质的影响千差万别,水质监测需根据当地具体情况和环境法律法规进行调整。几乎所有情况下,水资源的质量都不仅取决于个别采矿作业的排放质量。其他公司、人口中心和生计活动也会对水质产生影响。正是由于存在这些累积性效应,定期披露环境水质的详细数据才更加重要。哥伦比亚水中心(Columbia Water Center )和哥伦比亚可持续投资中心(Columbia Center for Sustainable Investment)的研究显示,这些渐进式的影响可能得不到记录,原因在于许多矿区经营者只关注自身对地表和地下水的污染排放情况,并假设水资源量仍足以将污染稀释到所需水平。 随着污染和缺水状况的累积影响日益明显,采矿作业很可能会面临巨大的社会和监管压力,并有可能失去社会经营许可。

随着污染和缺水状况的累积影响日益明显,采矿作业很可能会面临巨大的社会和监管压力,并有可能失去社会经营许可。

除了解决下游水资源质量问题外,矿区流域层面的水管理战略还需涵盖更广泛的水质问题,如预防尾矿管理或废弃矿坑洪泛造成的水污染风险。

推动当地相关水质数据的开放共享

水质对于采矿作业周边的当地利益相关方至关重要,公司可采取更多行动,更好地管理、跟踪和报告当地水资源的质量。详细及时地对水质进行报告应该成为常态,而不只是在有相关法规的地区才得以披露。公司可以通过报告排放点下游的环境水质以及排水本身的水质,以此证明其在更广泛的生态系统中所秉持的负责任的态度,以及对联合国可持续发展目标6(即清洁饮水与卫生设施,尤其是减少水污染和实现水资源安全再利用)的贡献。

《负责任采矿指数2020》列举了若干先进实践的实例。实例中列举的公司都提供了采矿作业排放点下游水体的详细水质监测数据。一些公司披露的数据中还包括水质低于规定标准的时间和地点。对于用水户来说,这一层面上的信息才是最关键的,而且数据收集后还要尽快提供给当地用水户。通过定期分享当地水质数据,公司可以在这个问题上与当地利益相关方更加充分地展开互动。

采矿业需要采取更多行动,鼓励全面、有效、可比的水质数据公开。公司可以积极主动地提供这些数据,通过这一方式表达对其他用水户和采矿作业所在地生态系统的尊重,向投资方展示自身对水风险的管理,并在各利益相关方之间建立信任。


脚注

  1. 详见《负责任采矿指数2020》https://2020.responsibleminingindex.org/zh
  2. 详见全球报告倡议组织 (2018) 《全球报告倡议组织(GRI)303: 水与排放物》; Mudd, G. (2008) 《可持续性报告和水资源:水资源和可持续采矿的初步评估》, 《矿区水资源和环境》第27卷,2018年4月
  3. 详见Northey, S.A.等人 (2019) 《可持续的水资源管理和改进企业报告在采矿业中的应用》,《水资源与工业》第21卷,2019年6月。
  4. 详见国际矿业与金属理事会(ICMM) (2014). Water Stewardship Framework
  5. 详见国际矿业与金属理事会(ICMM)(2017) 《水报告统一实用指南》 https://www.icmm.com/website/publications/pdfs/water/water-reporting_en.pdf; 以及, SASB (EM-MM-140a.2.), GRI (303-4), DJSI金属与矿业(2.3.4, 2.7.2) 等。
  6. 看到 https://www.globalreporting.org/standards/questions-and-feedback/materiality-and-topic-boundary/
  7. Helisek, A. (2019) 环境、社会和治理(ESG)与重要性报告的共生性,爱德曼国际公关公司(Edelman Insights), https://www.edelman.com/insights/symbiotic-rise-esg-and-materiality
  8. Helisek, A. (2019) 环境、社会和治理(ESG)与重要性报告的共生性,爱德曼国际公关公司(Edelman Insights), https://www.edelman.com/insights/symbiotic-rise-esg-and-materiality
  9. 同上
  10. Jiménez, A.等人(2019)《水和卫生设施的有利环境:概念框架》,《水》第11卷,2019年2月。
  11. Ugya, A.Y.等人 (2018) 《采矿活动造成的水污染:概述》。 尼日利亚阿克雷联邦技术大学《工程与工程技术学院2018年论文集》第3卷。

分享

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Water

Mining and Water: Are operational concerns overriding public interest?

Mining companies are much less likely to track and report on their management of water quality compared to water quantity. Other stakeholders sharing the same water resources as mining operations rely heavily on the quality, as well as the quantity, of these resources and they need useful information on water pollution levels. And mining investors, financiers and customers want to know how well companies are preventing water pollution and managing asset-level water quality-related risks. Yet it seems that while companies’ operational concerns about their water supply promote more regular reporting of water consumption levels, companies have largely neglected to publicly disclose locally-relevant data on water quality. Research shows that mining companies generally disclose water quality monitoring data only when they are required to do so by producing country regulations.

A key public interest issue

Mining operations can have severe and long-lasting impacts on water quality, and the quality of local water resources determines their usability and safety for agriculture, other industries, local communities and the environment downstream of mine sites’ discharge points. As such, water quality is an inter generational issue of direct relevance to the socio-economic and environmental health of mining areas. It is evident that water users need access to timely and locally-relevant data on the quality of the water resources downstream of mining operations.

According to Peter Kindt, Head of Metals, Mining & Fertilizers EMEA at ING Bank:

Understanding, measuring and analysing water-related issues in the mining industry is a complex and often undervalued task while of great importance to banks and other investors. Not just from an impact investment perspective, but also to manage risks: obtaining and maintaining a local license to operate and understanding longer term climate change related risks.

Peter Kindt, Head of Metals, Mining & Fertilizers EMEA at ING Bank

Lack of attention to quality of water resources

The discrepancy in the availability of data on water quality vs water quantity is very evident in the results of the RMI Report 2020, which assesses 38 large-scale mining companies’ policies and practices on a wide range of economic, environmental, social and governance (EESG) issues. The companies score an average of only 13% on tracking and disclosing water quality downstream of their operations – compared to an average score of 60% on tracking and disclosing their water consumption levels (see Figures 1 and 2).

The same pattern is seen at the mine-site level. The RMI Report 2020 mine-site assessment results are very weak on monitoring and disclosure of both water quality and water quantity but again companies are much less likely to track and disclose mine-site-level water quality data (see Figures 3 and 4).

Notably, only a couple of the companies assessed in the RMI Report 2020 include in their sustainability reports any indication of water quality impacts (and these are limited to brief mentions of major water pollution incidents) whereas companies routinely report statistics on their water consumption. And the RMI Report 2020 results confirm that regulatory frameworks strongly impact companies’ propensity to track and disclose water quality data. Overall, mine sites in countries such as India and Australia outperform others on this issue as they are required by the governmental authorities to publicly report their water quality monitoring results. It is important to note that such regulations tend to require companies to report on water quality at specified locations downstream of discharge points – rather than simply the quality of the water being discharged.

Limited industry expectations on water quality reporting

To some extent there is a lack of ‘internal demand’ for water quality disclosures, as major water-related reporting norms and guidelines largely ignore water quality. For example, while GRI includes detailed questions on water consumption, it does not cover aspects of water quality beyond requesting a basic two-tier disaggregation of the quality of effluent discharges. Even then, mining companies using this framework rarely provide any indication of quality, reporting only the quantity of the discharge flows. And, while industry guidelines on water stewardship, like those from ICMM, stress the need for regular disclosure of performance data on both water quality and water quantity, industry guidelines on water reporting focus almost entirely on water quantity issues, again specifying only a two-tier disaggregation of quality level (high or low) of discharges to the environment. What is missing from this superficial reporting is a detailed indication of the quality of the water actually used by stakeholders located downstream of mining operations, such as the rivers and lakes from where water may be used for other industries, livestock production, crop irrigation or home consumption.

Mismatch with materiality

The lack of tracking and reporting on water quality stands in contrast to the fact that most materiality analyses produced by mining companies identify both water quality and water quantity as priority issues. This calls into question the value of such materiality analyses. It is fair to say that companies have sometimes taken a limited view of what constitutes ‘materiality’, falling back on the concept’s origins in financial materiality – i.e. importance of an issue to the companies themselves, rather than the wider salience of the issue to other stakeholders. This tendency is acknowledged, for example, by the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI), which saw the need to clarify the more inclusive meaning of materiality in its most recent reporting frameworks. And analysts have noted that materiality analyses can be treated as tick-box exercises with the results unconnected to the ESG management and reporting activities of the company. The mismatch seen between how water quality is treated in materiality analyses and in company reporting may be one example of this ‘decoupling’.

Water quality: the bigger picture

With current water purification technologies, mining companies can readily control the quality of their discharges to water resources. And in most cases, companies are already collecting monitoring data on the quality of ambient as well as discharge water. It is simply a question now of making this information available and accessible to other stakeholders in a timely and meaningful manner.

Evidently, mine-site impacts on water quality will vary widely and water quality monitoring will need to be adapted to the specific conditions of the area and the environmental regulations in place. In nearly all cases, the quality of water resources will depend on more than just the quality of individual mining operations’ discharges. The presence of other companies, population centres and livelihood activities will also contribute to water quality impacts. Such cumulative impacts make the regular disclosure of detailed data on ambient water quality all the more important. A study by the Columbia Water Center and the Columbia Center for Sustainable Investment shows that these progressive impacts can go unrecorded as many mine operators look only at their own pollutant discharge to surface and groundwater bodies, and assume that water availability will remain sufficient to dilute the pollution to the required level of quality. As cumulative effects of pollution and water depletion become evident, mining operations are likely to face significant social and regulatory pressure and risk loss of their social licence to operate.

One aspect of water quality that is being increasingly addressed by mining companies is the application of participatory water quality monitoring in collaboration with local stakeholder representatives. Commonly used as an engagement tool by mining companies, caution needs to be applied so that these participatory processes are not merely a smokescreen but contribute to transparent reporting and honest and informed dialogue on how shared water needs can best be met.

In addition to addressing the quality of downstream water resources, a mine-site’s catchment-level water stewardship strategy needs to cover wider water quality issues such as the prevention of water pollution risks from tailings management or from flooding of abandoned pits.

Towards open sharing of locally-relevant water quality data

Water quality is of primary importance to local stakeholders around mining operations, and companies can do much more to better manage, track and report on the quality of local water resources. Detailed and timely reporting of water quality levels should be the norm, not only applied where regulations are in place. By reporting on ambient water quality levels downstream of their discharge points, as well as the quality of the discharge itself, companies can demonstrate responsibility for their role in the wider ecosystem and their contribution to the UN Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 6 on Clean Water and Sanitation and in particular the target on reducing water pollution and enabling safe re-use of water.

The RMI Report 2020 noted a few examples of companies demonstrating leading practice by providing detailed water quality monitoring data from water bodies downstream of their operations’ discharges. In some cases, these disclosures also show when and where the quality levels dropped below regulatory limits. This level of information, provided as soon as possible after the data is collected, is essential if it is to be useful to local water users. And by regularly sharing of local water quality data, companies can then engage more fully with local stakeholders on this issue.

The mining industry needs to do more to encourage comprehensive, meaningful and comparable water quality data disclosures. By pro-actively making this data readily available, companies can show respect for other water users and the ecosystems in which they operate, demonstrate to investors their management of water risks, and build trust among all stakeholders.


Footnotes

  1. See RMI Report 2020 https://2020.responsibleminingindex.org/en
  2. See GRI (2018) GRI 303: Water and Effluents; Mudd, G. (2008) Sustainability Reporting and Water Resources: a Preliminary Assessment of Embodied Water and Sustainable Mining. Mine Water and the Environment, Volume 27, April 2008.
  3. See Northey, S.A. et al (2019) Sustainable water management and improved corporate reporting in mining. Water Resources and Industry, Volume 21, June 2019.
  4. See for example ICMM (2014). Water Stewardship Framework.
  5. See ICMM (2017) A Practical Guide to Consistent Water Reporting. https://www.icmm.com/website/publications/pdfs/water/water-reporting_en.pdf; also, SASB (EM-MM-140a.2.), GRI (303-4), DJSI Metals and Mining (2.3.4, 2.7.2) among others.
  6. See https://www.globalreporting.org/standards/questions-and-feedback/materiality-and-topic-boundary/
  7. Helisek, A. (2019) The Symbiotic Rise of ESG and Materiality. Edelman Insights. https://www.edelman.com/insights/symbiotic-rise-esg-and-materiality
  8. Columbia Water Center (2017) Mining & Water Risk: Diagnosis, Benchmarking, and Quantitative Analysis of Financial Impacts. Columbia University Columbia Water Center, Earth Institute, Industrial Engineering & Operations Research, Columbia Center for Sustainable Investment. http://water.columbia.edu/files/2015/05/NBIM-Synthesis-Chapter-FInal-4.11.18.pdf
  9. Op cit.
  10. Jiménez, A. et al (2019) The Enabling Environment for Participation in Water and Sanitation: A Conceptual Framework. Water, Volume 11, February 2019.
  11. Ugya, A.Y. et al (2018). Water Pollution Resulting From Mining Activity: An Overview. Proceedings of the 2018 Annual Conference of the School of Engineering & Engineering Technology, The Federal University of Technology, Akure, Nigeria, Vol (3).

Share